My very last spring break

Throughout undergraduate and graduate school, I never went anywhere for spring break.  This year was no different.  For some reason, the idea of taking a trip in the middle of spring semester sounds so stressful.

Well, that’s not entirely true.  Of course, a week in Jamaica or Panama City would have been a blast.   I even told myself back in September that I should try to do something really fun this spring break since it will be my last.

Unfortunately, between job searching, class, work and interning, I never found time to plan and coordinate that epic spring break trip.  Instead, I packed up my duffel bag and once again headed home for a solid ten days in Easton, PA.

Over the past week, I went to the gym, applied for six jobs, worked on a few papers, hung out with my parents, spent time with friends, went shopping and ate lots of food.

And I bought a car–the biggest “big girl” thing I have done so far.

My obnoxiously red 1997 Kia Sephia finally bit the dust.  I was hoping it would make it through the summer, but the Kia had other plans and surrendered when its muffler came flying off last weekend.

Over the past two years, I have been able to save a little bit of money.  I went to the car dealership, with a monthly payment in mind.  I found a lovely little black car within my price range.  Lots of paperwork and three hours later, the car was mine.  If I did my math right, I will be OK financially if I find a job by August.

In addition to getting me from point A to B, my new car serves another purpose.  Job searching is such an uncertain endeavor, and my new car provides something concrete.  Every time I drive it, look at it, or even think about it, I am reminded by my August deadline to find employment.

I had a little moment with the Kia before I said goodbye.  This was the car I learned to drive in.  It was with me all throughout high school, undergraduate and now graduate school.  I essentially grew up in this car.  As much as I complained about it, I am going to miss that little Kia Sephia.

All year long, I have been so ready to graduate and start the next chapter of my life (the chapter where I’m employed).  But with less than two months left before graduation, I’ve been feeling a little sad about leaving the University of Delaware and the comforts of the life of a student.  This final spring break is yet another reminder that next year will be different.

Saying goodbye to the Kia will be like saying goodbye to my time as a University of Delaware student.  I have done my fair share of complaining about the place, but I would not be the person I am today without it.  Just like the Kia took me places I never expected, so did the University of Delaware.  But, I’m certain this new car (with power locks and windows, a CD player and built in XM radio) will take me to even greater places that I’ve never imagined–just like my future career.

Author:

Sara is graduating from the University of Delaware with a Master of Arts in College Counseling in Higher Education this May.  She has worked in many functional areas of higher education including career services, admissions, orientation and development.  Her ultimate goal would be to work in career services or admissions at a college or university.  Connect with Sara on Twitter or Linkedin.


Leave a Reply

