Graduated and Still Searching

I can hardly believe it, but my life as a student has come to an end. A few weeks ago I passed the last of my comprehensive exams, completed my final class assignments, and wrapped up my work with Career Services. Therefore, this will be my final blog posting.

Unfortunately, as my tenure at career services runs out, I do not have any promising full-time job prospects. I have applied to about two dozen jobs – not enough – and received three rejections. In actuality, I have probably been rejected by more than three employers and just not been notified.  I have found out from others that it is common in these tough economic times for employers to never follow up on a job application.

Nevertheless, I need to do more to improve my chances of getting hired. So, I’m expanding the scope of my search. Thus far, I have only applied to jobs within the niche that I would ideally like to work in – marketing/publications for a college/university. With graduation now come and gone, it’s more important that I am able to begin building on my skills in a good job which does not have to be my ideal job. So I will begin to consider similar positions in the corporate world as well as other positions within higher education.

Everyone says that your first job is the hardest job to get. Hopefully that’s true because this definitely is hard! But then again, with the economy as bad as it is, I expected it would be. So I’m going to keep my head up, keep searching and applying and spreading the word, and try to be patient.

In the meantime, I plan on taking a course or two to learn skills that are desired/required for the positions that I am interested in. While I have learned a great deal from working at Career Services, there is always more to learn and more ways to make me a better job candidate. All I can do is try my best and keep on keepin on!

Author:
Shannon completed her studies as a Mass Communication Master’s student at the University of Delaware in May 2010 and is currently searching for a Marketing position at a college or university. She worked as a Graduate Assistant for Career Resources & Marketing at UD’s Career Services Center, helping students with their career preparation and creating publications such as newsletters and conference materials. Shannon loves sports (go New York!) and music, and invites you to connect with her on LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply

