Philadelphia Flyers & Comcast-Spectacor: A Blue Hen Intern’s Snapshot

CB025530

Take an inside look at the internship experience of Nina, a junior Mass Communication major, who interned with the Philadelphia Flyers & Comcast-Spectacor during the Spring 2013 Semester.

Major:

Mass Communication; Double minoring in Journalism and Interactive Media; Spanish Certificate

Expected Year of Graduation:

May 2014

Where did you intern?

With the Philadelphia Flyers and Comcast-Spectacor

What were your responsibilities as an intern?

As an intern, I had to be at every Flyers and Wings game, assisting with in-game promotions and marketing.  We had weekly classes where we would learn about all the other departments within the Comcast-Spectacor family, and had the chance to shadow different departments.

What was your favorite thing about your internship?

My favorite things about the internship would have to be the friendships and connections that I have made, and being able to be around sports that I enjoy and help teams that I love in any way I could.

What was the most valuable skill you developed that you could use in your future career?

The most valuable skill I’ve developed would have to be more professional communication skills.  I’ve learned to more effectively communicate with individuals that are my equal or my superior.

What was something unexpected that happened during or came out of your internship experience?

The connections that I have made were unexpected during my internship experience.  From supervisors and other interns that I would see daily, to people that I might have met once, I’ve come across some wonderful people and learned a lot from each one of them.

Any words of wisdom for other students that may be interested in pursuing this or a similar internship? 

I would say to be patient as well as persistent.  I originally applied for this position for the summer and did not get called back.  I decided to take that time and intern with a minor league baseball team near my home and gain some more experience.  I then applied for this position and was called in to interview!

Any additional words of career wisdom that you would like to share?

I would just say to never overlook or think you are above someone.  I’ve come to realize that everyone has an interesting story and a unique background that you can learn from.  During my time with the Flyers I became good friends with one of the ushers who would hold the door open for us on the event floor.  Everyone else would just pay him no mind, some thanking him, but nothing more.  During my break one night I stayed to talk to him, and get to know him personally.  He became one of my greatest friends that I’ve met and I learned a lot from him, not about what I want to do for my career but just in life.

Stay tuned to our blog for more student internship stories & advice!

Heather Catalino, LPCMH

Marketing & Multimedia Coordinator

University of Delaware Career Services

@HCat1221twitter[1]

Leave a Reply

