#UDintern: Marketing Intern for Today Media Inc.

Name: Hannah Tattersall

Major: Mass Communications & Economics 

Expected year of graduation: 2016

Where are you interning? Today Media Inc.

How did you hear about your internship? Explain the interview process, as well.  I used my network connections! A family friend from my high school is the President/CEO of the company, so I reached out to him after submitting my application to follow-up and he put me in contact with my current supervisor, the Director of Marketing. She came down to interview me the next week, and in the Trabant Food Court actually! The interview went so smoothly and seemed more like a relaxed chat than an interview, so I knew right then that this was the internship for me!

What are your responsibilities as an intern? today media

Today Media is a communications company that publishes multiple magazine publications, including Delaware Today and Main Line Today, which are the two publications I mainly deal with in my daily activities. I work directly with the Marketing Department to assist in creating, reviewing, and executing content to help market our publications. Additionally, I am helping to coordinate the Best of Delaware Party and Best of Main Line Party, two charity events put on by the magazines with attendance of close to 2000 people for each evening.

So far, what is your favorite thing about your internship? 

Besides working with a great group of people, I have loved being able to assist in planning the Best of Delaware and Best of Main Line parties. From calling all 100+ vendors, to organizing registration and set-up, I loved having a hand in seeing how everything can come together to make an incredible event. When the night finally began, it was such a learning experience to see inevitable problems arise and how we came up with solutions on the spot. Both parties were huge successes, which made seeing the beneficiaries at the events even more rewarding.

bod14As a Communication & Economics double major, what is one thing you can take away from your internship and apply to your classes here at the University of Delaware?

Working in the business side of the media industry is exactly what I want to do for a career, and I definitely have gotten a glimpse into that area of the field. One of the biggest takeaways from this internship was to always take notes. From taking notes in department meetings, to jotting down ideas my supervisors bounced off each other with me, it helped me understand their decision processes. Additionally, it has allowed for me to be that much more reliable and responsible in my bosses eyes. In a way, I can act as my co-workers’ second brain, as they have to remember and deal with so many different tasks in any given day.

What is something unexpected that happened during or came out of your internship experience so far?

So far, I have made so many phone calls I believe I have finally gotten somewhat comfortable with talking on the phone. For some reason many people from this generation, myself included sometimes, have a hard time having telephone conversations; we prefer text and email conversations instead. From making the phone calls to the vendors for the parties, I feel that I became well versed with talking on the phone to professionals. As a result, by the time the parties came, I felt comfortable enough to go up to these same vendors in person and answer their questions without needing to bother my bosses as they were dealing with other issues. In addition, I believe I have grown more comfortable networking, as a result with dealing with both vendors and participants through introducing myself, answering and dealing with any questions or small issues, and having polite and cordial small talk throughout both of the parties.

Any words of career wisdom that you would like to share? Any advice for the next intern?

Make the most of your internship! Introduce yourself to the other workers in the office besides the ones directly work with you. Offer to do the little things, like grabbing your boss a bottle of water as you are headed to the kitchen, or printing out documents she needs for a meeting. She will remember these small acts and it shows that you are a hard worker and willing to not just do the glamorous things. Act professionally by speaking in a way that shows your intelligence. If your boss knows you are intelligent, she will give you more things that will require more brain power rather than menial tasks that anyone can do and enhance your internship experience by that much more. Finally, bring enthusiasm to your work. You are in the office for only a few months, so bring your young voice to the table to make it enjoyable for you and leave a lasting impression for your co-workers.

 

Leave a Reply

