#UDIntern: Kerry Washington Stood Here

Photo courtesy of Variety.com

           Photo courtesy of Variety.com

From waking up at 3AM to make it on-air as an intern for WSTW’s morning show, to helping plan the “Best of Delaware” party for Delaware Today, my past internship experiences were both memorable learning opportunities. Going into the summer before my senior year, I knew I wanted to continue this path and hopefully get an internship in the area of the media industry that I hope to work in after graduation: television. Thankfully, after a long and arduous internship search, I found a home as an intern with The Paley Center for Media in New York City.

For those of you who may not know, The Paley Center started as a museum for television and radio. Since its inception by CBS founder William S. Paley in 1975, hundreds of thousands of programs have been donated to the center to be enjoyed by the public for private events, public screenings or research purposes. Paley also hosts seminars with the casts of the best shows on television, from Modern Family to Veep to Scandal. In fact, it was in watching some of these seminars that I came to hear about this organization in the first place.

Finding out I was going to be in the same building that so many of my favorite stars have been in sounded like the best job ever, not to mention that I would work in one of my favorite cities in the world. Also, I was finally going to work with people who love TV as much as I do!

While I did spend a lot of time at my desk and in a library with dusty tapes surrounding me, what made it all worthwhile was the fact that my work dealt with television! I took inventory of programs I watched this last season. I researched information on shows I watched on “Nick at Night” when I was younger. I even got to help maintain the clips that would be shown in a seminar series later this year.

However, my main takeaway from this internship was not when I got to see Jake Gyllenhaal (twice) or when I ran into Hoda Kotb on my way to lunch. It was that I got to see myself living in New York City. I rarely stray away from the Delaware bubble, so I was motivated to try working in the city to see if I would be interested enough to move after graduation. Thankfully, I maneuvered my way around the city like a pro, mastering the commuting lifestyle and getting over my anxiety of riding the subway. As I begin my job hunt, I am grateful to have had this opportunity mainly for the fact that I know I will be comfortable in whatever city I end up in, whether it’s close to Delaware or farther away. But, I’m not going to lie; being immersed in television every day this summer definitely was a plus, too!

Written by: Hannah Tattersall

Hannah is a senior pursuing a double degree in Economics and Mass Communication. On campus, Hannah is a member of the Honors Program, serving as an editor of the Honors Program blog, “186 South College,” and as a Writing Fellow, a peer tutor for Honors freshmen. In her spare time, Hannah can be found geeking out over her favorite TV shows. She also thinks she can dance and works as an assistant dance teacher at a local dance studio. Additionally, Hannah is a campus editor-at-large with The Huffington Post, and is always looking for new and talented student bloggers to write about their college experience.

Leave a Reply

