Getting to Know Danielle Nantais-Wenzel

wenzel_wanielle-2015

Danielle Nantais-Wenzel is the Talent Recruiting Coordinator for the Career Services Center at the University of Delaware. She recently switched positions, so we wanted to find out a bit more about her day-to-day life here at UD. Below she outlines her daily roles and a piece of advice that she would like to offer students!

1) What does a typical work day look like for you?

There is no typical day 🙂 and that’s what I like most about my job, no two days are ever the same.  But, for the most part my days start by doing the small things like prepping the interview rooms, ensuring the interview schedules are organized and generally ensuring that both the student and employer experience is organized, professional and enjoyable.  Greeting the employers and helping them get set up for the day is also a part of my routine.  I handle the majority of incoming calls and emails from students, alumni and employers with tech support needs, application questions, interview prep questions and general Blue Hen Careers/Handshake tech support.

                                                 

2) What is your favorite part of being in charge of on campus recruiting at the Career Services Center?

I enjoy seeing the students arrive to their interview prepared and excited. I love when the students tell me they made it to the second round or that they landed their dream job.  I feel a sense of pride in seeing them on this side of their college careers…all the hard work to land the job and I like being here to help them achieve that.

 

3) We need to know, what is your favorite restaurant on Main Street?

The Stone Balloon then, now, always.

 

4) Where did you work prior to UD?

Prior to working in Career Services I was a stay at home mom after serving as the Operations Manager for DuPont’s employee training and conference facility.

 

5) If you could give any advice to college students, what would it be?

Take advantage of this time to become the best version of yourself, participate in EVERYTHING, take yourself out of your comfort zone and learn something new. But I think one of my favorite quotes does a pretty good job at summarizing the advice I would give: “For what it’s worth: it’s never too late to be whoever you want to be. I hope you live a life you’re proud of, and if you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.” – F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

6) What do you hope to achieve during your time here?

I hope to always build others up whenever I can and support Career Services in way that brings benefit to our students, alumni and employers.

 

One thought on “Getting to Know Danielle Nantais-Wenzel

Leave a Reply

