#UDIntern: We Create Happiness

BY: MEGAN JULIAN

A lot of people can’t say that their job description is to make magic. Luckily for me, I get to do that every day. I am currently working for the Walt Disney Company, down in Orlando, Florida through their Disney College Program. I, along with many other college students and recent college graduates, arrived in Florida with a sparkle in our eye and a smile on our face, ready to work where dreams come true. Let me tell you, it has been one of the greatest times of my life.1.jpg

Last year, for the whole spring semester, I participated in the Disney College Program. This summer, I am back for their Summer Alumni Program with the same job in the same location, Children’s Activities at Port Orleans Resort. This resort quickly became my home; it is like I never left.2

The program is only available for students enrolled in a university or college. That being said, I’ve met college students my age and college students who are in their 40s. It is also available to international students. Men and women come from all over the world to work for this amazing company. I’ve met people from Thailand, Puerto Rico and Australia. We are all here for one reason: to create magic and happiness for others.3

This program is not like many other internships. It gives its participants, or as we call ourselves ‘CPs,’ an experience that helps shape our future and helps us define who we are as a person. It strengthens our people skills, our networking skills and our work ethics.

4
The program is essentially working full time for the Walt Disney Company. However, unlike the full-time Cast Members, we have special benefits and events that can help our college career, as well as our Disney career. There are seminars with other Cast Members on topics of networking, resume building, and educational programs within the program like Disney English, teaching English as a second language.

5

This program has done so much for me, between educational benefits and skills I will have for the rest of my life. I have had the opportunity to create happiness for guests, something that has changed the way I see the world. I take the skills I’ve learned as a cast member to outside the walls of Disney. It’s an experience I will never forget and it is a program I recommend to everyone.

 

____

Megan Julian is a rising senior majoring in English Education with a Theatre Performance minor. She is involved in both theatre groups, HTAC and E-52, on campus and she enjoys doing outside theatre as well! If you have any questions about the Disney College Program and Internships, feel free to email her at mjulian@udel.edu!

Leave a Reply

