Meet Our Newest Staff Member: Rachel Coppola, PhD!

We are so excited to welcome and introduce our newest member of the Career Services Center family, Rachel Coppola. Rachel is the new Associate Director for the Counseling & Programming Team. We wanted to know a little more about her, and want you to get to know her too! Keep reading to hear more about Rachel and the role that she plays here.

What is your position at UD’s Career Services Center and what does it entail?

As the new Associate Director for the Counseling & Programming Team (CPT), I not only have the opportunity to meet with students, but also to help with programming (which includes leading or co-facilitating workshops, developing information sessions, and taking students on site-visits to learn about companies and industries).  I am charged with not only fostering professional development opportunities for students but for CPT staff as well.  We want to make sure that we are offering students a top quality experience when they engage with our office.  Additionally, the CSC has instituted a new model to help students gain awareness of career opportunities by linking occupations and industries by career communities and not just by major.  In my role, I serve as a liaison within specific career communities connecting with students, faculty, and other university administrators across campus as well as recruiters and companies related to my communities.

Where did you work before coming to UD?

I worked at Temple University’s Fox School of Business in their Center for Student Professional Development.

Why did you choose to come work at UD’s Career Services Center?

There were two primary reasons I wanted to work here at the CSC:

1)       Delaware has been my home for many years now.  As a higher ed professional, what better place to work than our flagship institution.

2)       In my research of the institution I consistently found that the CSC has a solid reputation.  The staff is not only dedicated to the student body and the UD community as a whole, but they also work to be innovative and to institute best practices with students, employers, alumni, and faculty/staff.  I wanted to be a part of that work.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I love reading (and I’m old school – books, not electronic devices are my preference), watching movies with my family or traveling with them, playing with my son, and practicing yoga and meditation.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

I’ve been lucky enough to travel to many places already, but recently I did a DNA test and found my ancestors were primarily from Nigeria and Cameroon.  I would love to travel to those countries and spend time learning more about their histories and cultures.

What is the best piece of advice that you could offer UD students?

When deciding how you want to live your post-undergraduate life, remember that there is no path, no right way forward.  However, you owe it to yourself to make informed decisions (which come as a result of learning, challenging yourself and using critical thinking skills), so that you are confident in whichever direction you choose to go.

  1. Great to know that my former high school guidance counselor is enjoying herself professionally.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

