#UDIntern Writing My Way to My Future

BY: ALEXANDRA HOUGH

 

I have had a love for writing as long as I can remember. At first, it was screen writing when I was ten years old. I loved to write plays and perform shows for my family and friends but quickly learned I was not an actor nor a performer. However, my passion for writing was always there. My interest in journalism didn’t begin until my junior year here at UD when I took my first journalism class.

I thought journalism was all about the news, such as interviewing people about an accident or an event, until I learned that there is so much more to it. I developed a love for writing about people, about things I enjoy like film, fashion and more. When I realized that writing was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, I knew nothing would get me further in the industry than experience.

I began writing for the school paper, then obtained multiple internships and writing opportunities. I wrote for an online publication about entertainment and pop culture, attended the DNC as one of three reporters for the university, and interned at Delaware’s biggest newspaper, the News Journal. Yet, something was still missing. I needed an opportunity to write about the beats I care about most: lifestyle, health and beauty for women.

I applied to PureWow as soon as I saw the posting for the internship. They were looking for an editorial intern for the winter months, and luckily for me, I was available the exact time due to UD’s extensive winter break. I immediately clicked with my interviewer who is now my internship supervisor, and I had never been more excited to start working at a company.

My first day began in November. I needed to be in the Manhattan office at 10:30 a.m. I got on the train and before I knew it I was in our building on Broadway, sweating from nerves as I stood in the elevator. It was overwhelming how beautiful the office was when I walked in for the first time. Finally I was in a place where everyone was around my age, passionate about the same things I was, and happy that I was there.

Once I was settled and finished my tour of the office, I was introduced to Sarah, who oversees the big project I was assigned to. Contributing writers have visited and sampled hundreds of Manhattan eateries, and they all needed to be compiled into one document or location. That’s where I came in. I loved researching and writing up bio’s on the restaurants, and it was then that I learned to write in the “PureWow voice”. The project has been ongoing since I began, and I never get sick of it.

Another big thing I have learned since beginning the internship is everything there is to know about SEO’s. What is it that people are searching online? How likely is it that our articles can become one of the top articles on these subjects? How is the online competition?

Every time I go into the office I am excited and happy to be there. I picture myself working in a place like this for my first job. For the rest of the semester, I look forward to working closely with the editorial team and learning all there is to know about PureWow and the digital media industry.

 

_____

Alexandra Hough is a senior communication major at the University of Delaware

Leave a Reply

