#UDIntern: Margali and Flynn Designs (Part 2)

BY: JULIANNE BROOKS

During my second week interning at Margali and Flynn Designs in Williston Park, New York, I learned a lot more about interior design and how the process all begins. After learning more about my boss, Keri Flynn, and how she got into the field of interior design, I discovered that she first had to learn computer-aided drafting software to create blueprints for buildings, brides and computer chip. Some of the names of these computer design software’s include: AutoDesk, AutoCAD, Revit and SketchUp. Following our conversation, I looked into these computer programs and then decided I wanted to take a class and begin to learn for myself how everything works.

Following that decision, I began my class at Technical Institute of America in New York City taking AutoCAD Level 1 this past Monday morning. The class was from 8:30-4:00 Monday-Wednesday. Combining all three days of class, the total amount of time spent in the classroom added up to 24 hours. During the class, I learned the fundamental commands used in the program. In a class size of approximately 20 students, the professor taught us about creating drawings using a variety of shapes utilizing many tools and commands. We also learned how to create and control layers, change properties on objects in the drawings, how to scale drawings and how to add text to our drawings. I couldn’t believe how much knowledge I gained about design software in just three short days. Because I enjoyed the class so much, I might even consider taking the next two levels next week before I go back to school. I figured I might as well take advantage of the opportunity to gain as much knowledge as I can.

In addition, when I returned back to the office after the class, I began to work more on the social media design for the company. I started working with the social media coordinator/photographer this week to go over renovating the social media (Instagram, Facebook, Houzz, etc) and the website to gain a more fresh and contemporary style for Margali & Flynn. During our meeting, we came up with some great new ideas to gain a larger audience not only on Long Island, but also across Manhattan as well. I’m so excited to see how everything turns out!

picture1

Picture of the program, AutoCAD

  1. […] Read Julianne’s first two pieces: Part 1 and Part 2! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

